A number of states have an “ID Theft Passport law”. Once a citizen files a police report with their local law enforcement agency, they may request an “Identity Theft Passport.” This “Passport” is an indication on the victim’s Driver’s License that identifies them as an identity theft victim.
The police report along with the victim’s personal information, is stored in the Identity Theft Passport database that is available to statewide law enforcement agencies. The victim’s information will also be accessible by the Motor Vehicle Department.

The passport is an identification of “Victim of Identity Theft” and will be printed on the back in the endorsement area of the driver’s license and should be carried by the victim to help prevent identity confusion if a crime has been committed in the victim’s name.
Every state has a law regarding identity theft or impersonation. Twenty-nine states, Guam, Puerto Rico and the District of Columbia have specific restitution provisions for identity theft. Five states—Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan and Tennessee—have forfeiture provisions for identity theft crimes. Eleven states—Arkansas, Delaware, Iowa, Maryland, Mississippi, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Ohio, Oklahoma and Virginia—have created identity theft passport programs to help victims from continuing identity theft.
The following states have some form of ID Theft Passport for victims of identity theft:
Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas California
Colorado Connecticut Delaware District of Columbia Florida
Georgia Guam Hawaii Idaho Illinois Indiana
Iowa Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Maine
Maryland Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota Mississippi
Missouri Montana Nebraska Nevada New Hampshire
New Jersey New Mexico New York North Carolina North Dakota
Ohio Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania Puerto Rico
Rhode Island South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee Texas
Utah Vermont Virginia Virgin Islands Washington
West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming

Statutory Citation and Criminal Penalties & Restitution Provisions for the above states can be found at: